Posted by: kellietris | January 29, 2012

Ironman Training Eve (omg)

175 days from rightnow I will be over ten hours into Ironman Lake Placid. I will be running (I use that term loosely), over 120 miles behind me, and I will be getting closer to the finish line with every step.

Holy crap!

Tomorrow I’m starting my official training plan, thanks to my friend/spin class instructor/awesome person Denise Goode at the Sustainable Athlete. I’ve been quiet on the blog front while I got through some school stuff, and training-wise I’ve been spinning a whole lot and not much else. I’m super excited to start having a structured plan to get me going.

IMLP2010

Oh yeah.

 

Now that I’ll be actually training I’ll get some more blog posts up. So far the race schedule is kinda sparse except for IMLP… I’m doing the Mid-Winter 10 miler this Sunday in Cape (before the Super Bowl… go Pats!!), and I’m signed up for the Polar Bear Tri in May. I’ll probably end up doing the Pirate Tri again, and maybe another sprint. Unfortunately it looks like Peaks to Portland 2012 will be the weekend of July 21-22 (I know a lot of people are looking for an official date– I haven’t heard this is the official date but looking at the tides and when they’ve done past races, this looks like the most likely weekend by far). That’s the same weekend as IMLP, so I’m going to swim the Nubble Light Challenge instead.

 

One good night’s sleep and then BOOM. It’s Ironman training season.

Bring it.

 

Responses

  1. Hi Kellie,

    I was wondering what your impressions of the Mascomaman 70.3 I was thinking about adding that race.

    Thanks Jason Hope, ME

  2. Hi Jason!

    I actually wrote up a race report, which is at the following link: https://kellietris.wordpress.com/2011/08/23/somebodys-gotta-run-slowest-mascomaman-70-3-race-report/

    There’s a lot more detail there, but the short version is that I would definitely recommend it. Last year was the first year it took place so it was a little rough around the edges, but the event went smoothly. The course is definitely challenging… we had the unfortunate presence of weather in the upper 80s which added to the challenge but the bike course is substantially hilly regardless of the weather. The run course was great, a small portion was on a trail and another section had a couple decent hills but overall I thought it was well-planned.

    This year they’re USAT sanctioned I believe, so there’s that added legitimacy, but like I said, they did really well last year for a first-time independent 70.3. I won’t be doing it this year, but only because it’s one week after my first Ironman. If not for that I’d be doing it again for sure.

    If you have any specific questions let me know, I’ll be glad to help!

    Kellie


Leave a Reply

Categories

